Minister for Education and Training Senator for South Australia


Turnbull Government will provide funds to more than 3000 students, professors and researchers to pursue overseas learning and research opportunities next year. Simon Birmingham, Education, and Training Minister, announced the name of the recipients of Turnbull Government 2017 Endeavour Scholarships, Fellowships, and Grants. These scholarships offer Australians the opportunity to study, research or professional development overseas and the outside citizens to do the same in Australia. Minister Birmingham said this program helps in improving Australia’s name for supremacy in higher education& research and encourage close overseas connection for the success in future. He mentioned that 67 Australian tertiary institutions would be offered funds for more than 2800 students to join in Endeavour mobility projects across Australia and overseas. Another 278 students and professionals will be provided professional development, study and research in Australia or overseas. 350 students will take up the Endeavour Cheung Kong Student Exchange Program, and 10 researchers will join an Endeavour Australia Cheung Kong Research Fellowship under a 10-year sponsorship arrangement between the Australian Government and Cheung Kong Group. These scholarships and fellowships are provided to support learning and research in the field of engineering, technology, earth science, medical and public health. The mobility grants facilitate students to develop global skills and perspective by working on a variety of projects in different countries including USA, UK, Indonesia, and Singapore. Minister Birmingham said the Government is helping Australian students to study in the Indo-Pacific through the New Colombo Plan. The Government is also providing the opportunity to the talent from all across the world to study in Australia through the facility of two-way educational exchange. Minister Birmingham congratulated the recipients and encouraged them to make the most of this opportunity for development in the field of education and research. To check the list of recipients and further information, visit: Minister Birmingham’s media contact: James Murphy 0478 333 974 Nick Creevey 0447 644 957 Department Media: